Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 21st, 2009

I learned a lesson about fabric. Always buy it… especially if it is on sale. I don’t think sewing is going to be a hobby that I give up anytime soon. Because sometimes I am just too picky to buy things off the rack. I want things to look a certain way, which often requires me to whip out the ol’ sewing machine and make it myself.

This tank top is something that I could definitely purchase (in a boring fabric). But I have been eyeing this fabric for months. It’s been half off the entire time… I just wasn’t sure I needed it.

Hours after I convinced myself to buy the fabric, I was cutting into it and making this tank top. The tank is a near duplicate of one I already own. I laid an old tank down and copied the shape using my new rotary cuttery (and tracing paper when needed). I sewed along the edges to stop fraying, but I didn’t finish them, since they were all curvy.  And I thought “who needs to mess with that.” So it was a really simple project. And it made my happy to know I made it AND that I really did need that fabric.

Read Full Post »